Posted by: deepakuniyal | March 29, 2011

“Technology is bringing the world closer” – Really ??

Hello Friends,

I read this line …somewhere, which compelled me to think, a lot more about technology, from a completely different angle.

“We walk the streets with our heads down, staring those 3 inch screens, while the world whisks by, doing the same.”

Isn’t it true? Just look around yourself in a train or any public transport, airports, railways stations etc…. you would see scores of people with their ears shut, heads down and their thumbs or fingers sliding up and down on the screens of their inseparable, indispensable digital fortresses called “Smart Phones” or the latest “Tablets” and if you don’t have any of these.. Just look out of the window or at the roof or take out your good old “paper” based book to read.

Don’t even think to greet someone, befriend anyone, casually chat or just smile “manually” as you might offend the “Smart people with Smart Phones”;  Yes, they will be fine if you send them a “smiley”, “Like”, “friend request”, “A digital Rose with Rose App”, “Poke”  … etc…

I’ve seen cases with couples…sitting on the same seat, plugged into their gadgets, rolling their thumbs to glory and commenting on each other on the Facebook!! And then expecting those “Likes” medallions from their digital community. These “Likes” have become the proof of your worth nowadays.

So, if you want to appreciate of encourage someone sitting beside you, you just click on the “Like Thumbs-up”, instead of pat on the back or a compassionate hug!!

I have my own doubts, if these social machines have brought us “together”, I think the inverse is “true”. It’s just like having a closed cubical of your own.

If you want to propose to your partner…no need to set the scene…no need for a nice dinner or a location or event…..no need to look into her eyes or hold hands..of a gentle kiss and a warm hug BECAUSE  “THEY HAVE AN APP FOR THAT  !! ”

I think all the creators of these Toys, are having a big and nasty laugh.

Don’t get me wrong, working in IT and actually owning these gadgets, I appreciate all the benefits which technology has brought us, but we should try to limit the mechanical mutation with machines and remember the “human” part.

I am a human, I have emotions and I need other humans to share this with, “I want to write on the “Hearts” and *not* on  *Walls*

Whew!! I feel lighter now 🙂

Luv,

Dee


Leave a comment

Categories